Social Security Attorney in Mobile & Baldwin County, AL

Call for a Free Consultation

Social security is one of the major programs run by the US federal government through the Social Security Administration (SSA). This program aims and works by utilizing the taxes paid into the trust funds to provide support and benefits to eligible individuals. This idea requires everyone to have a Social Security Number (SSN).

There is a wide variety of individuals that are eligible for these benefits. These individuals are grouped into four major categories. Belonging to one or more of these categories means you can enjoy these benefits if you meet other criteria.

4 Major Categories of Benefits By SSA

1.    Retirement Benefits 

Retirement benefits are for individuals that are qualified retirees and their families. This benefits system is one of the major social security plans for every American worker. The essence of the benefit is to provide replacement income for qualified retirees and their families. Once you are a retiree that meets the basic requirement, you can easily follow the application process to get this benefit.

2.    Disability Benefits 

This benefit falls under the Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) and the Supplementary Security Income (SSI) programs by the federal government. These benefits are available for individuals with an actual disability and meet other basic requirements. These requirements include having worked for a number of stipulated years, payment of taxes through these years, and earning enough to qualify.

3.    Survivors Benefits 

Unlike most other types of benefits, disability benefits are not paid directly to victims, and they are paid to widows, widowers, and other dependents of eligible workers. These benefits are majorly targeted but not limited to young families with kids. Like other benefits, the deceased must have worked for a stipulated number of years, earned enough to qualify, and paid social security taxes.

4.    Supplementary Security Income (SSI) 

The Supplementary Security Income (SSI) benefits are basically for the aged, blind, or disabled who have limited income and limited resources and belong to one of the categories of aliens. Or a US citizen or national. Also, such individuals must not be confined to any institution, such as hospitals and prisons, at the government’s expense. Besides these, other basic requirements must be met to qualify for this benefit.

It is best to find out the requirements and other necessities for these benefits before the incidence of retirement, disability, or death. This understanding will help you ensure that you can easily get these benefits when needed.